My Anxiety

At some point in your life, you will experience anxiety. Whether that be your friends, a new crowd, school, work, finances or just life in general. This small thing affects the lives of millions every day. And I am one of those people.

My life flipped upside down this time last year. I had learned from my psychiatrist that I had Generalized Anxiety Disorder. Learning this news kept me at an utter shock. How had I not known about this for 2 years?

So you might be wondering where my anxiety stems from. Well, it all began the summer of 2013 when my mother and I took a trip to Sri Lanka. I was separated from my support system and felt separation anxiety every day. The culture shock from being in a new country manifested into anxiety and got even worse.

My anxiety comes in waves at any moment of my day. Some days I’m fine and other days its as if I’m held captive my a dark cloud. Just ask my siblings. They would tell you how lazy and unmotivated I become. The only thing I would want to do on those days is sleep in my bed. This would be my escape from reality and the world.

Anxiety, in general, is stressful. People may have anxiety about separation or in social situations. Meanwhile, my anxiety is a combination of all those. Generalized anxiety means that anything can make me anxious at any given moment. It sucks not knowing when I’ll be anxious. Some days it is a struggle to just get through the day.

Overtime, I have come to realize that though my anxiety has its negatives, it also has positive. My anxiety has led me to be more productive, as I will constantly be worrying. This has led to me completing my tasks days ahead in order to not be stressed and fell relief.  So I thank my anxiety for the greater good 🙂

What causes you anxiety?

-XOXO chana

 

2 comments

  1. Daniela Soriano · May 9

    I wish I could pinpoint what brings my anxiety, but I haven’t been able to figure it out yet.

    https://danielasoriano.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. justmyselfa · May 9

    Don’t worry. It took me around 6 months to identify my triggers and that was with the help of my psychiatrist

    Like

Leave a Reply

