The Day My Life Changed Forever

It was like another other Christmas day, joy and happiness spread around the household. Presents being exchanged. Overall we were ecstatic to not only receive gifts but also receive them.

I was quite happy with that I had received from not only my family but also my friends. Though I didn’t need anything. I had everything I ever wanted and need in the room – my family.

Unlike like others, who do not speak to their family, they are my best friends. My parents and siblings are my support system. I know that they will always be there for me no matter what. These four individuals would drop anything in the world to just be with me at my worst. I could rely on them and depend on them. They are my heart, my soul, my everything.

After the typical gift exchange, we decided to lay low for the day. We just hung out and spent the day together with the presence of family. That’s all I needed on Christmas day.

Little did I know that the next day, my life would change forever. And let me just tell you, it was not a pleasant.

December 26th, 2016. The day my earth and heart shattered into a million pieces. It was like any other Boxing day in my household. We were not like others, we did not find joy in lining up to get the best prices on useless objects. We avoided the crowds, long lines, and malls in general. We were not believers in Boxing day and will never be.

The day flew by with us playing cards and bothering my parents. Just any typical day in my household.

Then one call would change our lives forever. It was 1am when my father received an urgent phone call. At that time I was messing around and laughing with my parents, my father got fed up and sent me to bed. Meanwhile, my cousin would be dead in a car at that moment.

I heard his phone ring. He was hesitant to answer. But he picked up anyway. I was just dozing off when I heard the word serious and jumped out bed. I ran straight to my dad. From the tone of his voice. I knew something was wrong. He cut the phone and explained that my cousin, Waldo was in a serious car accident. My father, mother, and brother drove off to my cousin’s house, while, my sister and I stayed behind.

At that instant, I could not think about anything other than Waldo. He was the only thing on my mind at 1 am. I just wanted him to be alright. Little did I know, I was completely wrong. I was hesitant to fall asleep as I wanted to know what had happened to him. I needed to hear he was fine,

It wasn’t until 7 am the next day when my brother woke me up by saying that Waldo died. At that moment I burst into tears. The man I looked up to and turned to was gone. He would no longer be walking this earth because of a careless driver. He was taken away for someone else’s selfish acts. He was gone forever and nothing could change that. He was a warrior, my superman and now he had become my guardian angel.

How could he be gone? How could god take away a 21-year-old? How will I survive? How will I get past this? How do you mend a broken heart? How do you fix this? Just HOW

– XOXO chana

Leave a Reply

